RSS

[Journal] Yup… more personal

30 Mar

Whelshawlp… I am still alive and I’m actually pretty darn healthy. I really do need to take a new personal photo because that one doesn’t exactly represent who I am anymore.

I’m down 20 pounds from my January post and a lot less than when this photo was taken.

But weight is not the reason for my changes, as any of you who read my blog regularly would know. If you do not know, allow me to reference you back to my last couple posts. I’ll wait while you read. Just let me know when you are ready to continue here.

Yup. I’ll wait. *smiles*

Ok – back? Great.

I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster since Dec 27th. I mean – getting news like ‘that’ seriously rattles a person. Well, any normal person who wants to live a long, healthy life – which I happen to be of that constitution. But having  a step dad that has had a partial foot amputation, a sister in law that had just underwent gastric bypass – what was my hope?

It’s a pretty big question and I think it’s one I answered loud and clear. I responded with NOT going on medication and NOT falling to the sadness surrounding the diagnosis. In a way, I found myself to celebrate in it – it ended up being one of the best things to happen to me and I thank God for that. Granted – don’t read this wrong, I can’t wait to get rid of it… but I understand why I got it. Why God put this in my path and I am the furthest thing from angry, frustrated or sad.

Oh, I do intend to post on why I know this is God given … just gotta find the time!

In the last 3 months, I went from taking 11 pills a night, to 6. I am no longer taking aleve nightly for my arthritis. I am no longer on blood pressure medication.

I had my 3 month follow up from the diagnosis on Tuesday and I got a call from my doctor’s office today with the results from the blood test. But before I go there, let me take a couple steps back.

Step number 1 back – during my visit, the Nurse Practitioner that I see (I adore her… she’s amazing) was absolutely astonished and excited by my weight loss and the fact I had to ween myself of medications. She got giddy (yes, GIDDY) at the idea of my getting my blood work done. She exclaimed multiple times she wanted to see what they were.

Step number 2 back – ok. I forgot what step number two was. There was a step number 2… but ya know. Doh!

Anywhoozles – The call was a good one. The nurse that called me was just beside herself. Keep in mind, for those that ready my first update in 2017 – this was the same nurse that called me to diagnose me as diabetic. The one that didn’t sound too confident that I was going to be serious with changing my lifestyle. The tone during this call was MUCH different. In fact, she said “whatever you are doing, keep doing it. You are improving your health!” … yup, I’ll definitely keep doing it. HA!

So what do I have? wp-1490928643867.jpg

Before Triglycerides: 376. Now? 136.

Before Blood Sugar (faster): 270. Now … 122.

Before A1C: 9.3 (YOUCH!). Now? 5.6.

I don’t know my before cholesterol but it is now 137 with an LDL of 105. My LDL was lower before, but I do need to get my grubby paws on my new HDL number, because my guess is that its better.

If you don’t know what any of this means – first off: summary – I’m all normal in these numbers now. My blood sugar is a little high for the A1C number (you’d expect it to be lower), but I’m still significantly overweight and I’m guessing my pancreas is still healing up. Second off: If you don’t know what these are, I highly recommend having it all checked by your doctor. Thin doesn’t mean healthy … fat doesn’t mean diabetic. It’s just good to have a baseline of your health and then you can start to make improvements to your life… extending your life for you and your loved ones.

It matters and so do you.

One bit change that has occurred is that in the beginning, upon diagnosis, my changes were all very personal (as it would be expected), but as I’ve done more research, read more, analyzed various studies, and watched more documentaries, the more this feels like a movement to me – something to inspire me to make not only my own small space better, but a way to attempt to improve a broader space. Right now, its hard for me to reign it in because a lot of people (read as: most everyone I know) has no interest in hearing what their current diet is doing to them … nor do they want to hear that the only way to achieve optimum health is to change drastically.

Right now, I’m reminding myself that I need to be healthy, but I’m definitely looking for opportunities to help others who are ready to be helped.

God Bless.

 

PS – that photo of the whiteboard scribbles is something I want to save forever. That is a picture of my scribbles as the nurse talked. The more excited I got, the worse my hand writing got (and it doesn’t have far to go to be black splotches).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2017 in Not Fiber Related

 

5 responses to “[Journal] Yup… more personal

  1. iesadora

    March 31, 2017 at 4:32 pm

    Those are great numbers!! Your AWESOME!!!!

     
    • Cris

      April 1, 2017 at 10:21 pm

      Thank you!

       
  2. Lynn Marie Sawicke

    April 1, 2017 at 10:12 pm

    Congratulations. …REALLY, on getting your numbers under control…I’m going thru the same thing….YOU have given me hope….by the way do you have the pattern from the scarf/shawl you are wearing in the picture….
    Thanks….and YOU GO GIRL

     
    • Cris

      April 1, 2017 at 10:21 pm

      You can do this ! Please report back your progress. I’d love to hear :) as for the shawl, my friend made it so when I see her next I’ll ask :) I’m sure, knowing her, it’s a Rav pattern!

       
  3. Flo Emerson

    April 3, 2017 at 9:43 am

    Oh girl I am so proud of you!!! You are doing great! I have fallen down a bit lately with all the pain but I am doing better again. Back to eating yogurt with fruit or granola every morning and eating better at night. I need to continue with my weight loss. My knee has been giving me a fit so I haven’t been walking as much as I would like to. BIG HUGGGGSSSS to you sweetie!

     

Leave a Reply

 
