RSS

Joy.

05 May

This is one of those non-fiber posts so if you aren’t into it, wait for my next one. I’m sure it will be all about fiber (as I have a HUGE list of things I want to talk about that I didn’t in my little vacay away from the blog).

One element of my personality is that I can truly find happiness for another in their good fortune even if I am at a low point. For whateverq1` reason, for me, there is something in that – to really feel happiness for and through others. It can be a real pick me up. When I’m not at a low or at a high in my own life, I can really go over the top with finding joy in another’s happiness.

Couple this feature with one of the greatest moments in one of my children’s lives and I am truly bursting at the seams.

I don’t mention too much personal stuff on the blog but my oldest, Rabbit, is getting married in 2 days (I guess this means I have to come up with a blog name for him too, huh?). I am so very excited for them and it really is just bursting. I am in “stand back” mode because I really am not a wedding planner type (I did not even have a wedding – the Man and I eloped) but what I am good at is doing. If she needs anything, all she needs to do is ask and I will do.

I feel her excitement in her texts, I hear it in her voice when we talk. The pictures she has been posting to Facebook are really sweet and convey the energy of their happiness. Today it was a shot of them with their blank marriage certificate. So cute and really something so simple as that selfie marking one of the stepping stones to the major life milestone.

She told me on the phone tonight that she cannot look into the faces of the people she cares about and see them cry – if she does, she will cry too. I just gave her a heads up that she really should not make eye contact with me for a good 2 or 3 hours before the wedding all the way to maybe an hour or two after. I am going to be a blubbering mess.

She came into our lives in a rather unique way and I am truly blessed she did. I won’t go into details here out of respect to her and our family privacy – but she is not biologically ours. She was in need of a family and we were open to loving this little girl. It hasn’t been a bed of roses. Heck, raising any child isn’t – but in the end, I do feel God blessed me to have had the pleasure to be her mom… well, her MA – because that’s what she calls me. :) I think we were able to teach her some things and help prepare her for some of her adult life challenges, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t learn a lot from her as well.

To watch her grow and change and become an amazingly strong woman … and now to be embarking on this new adventure… I really have trouble finding the words.

Yeah… pretty safe to say I’m going to be a blubbering mess.

pretty. darn. safe.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2016 in Not Fiber Related

 

Leave a Reply

 
