RSS

YOP 2016 – The First Post

03 Jan

06e44-yearofprojectscalendarsquareWhelp, it’s that time of year again – the first YOP post of the year which means a quick introduction to the items I have on my list.

Granted, this is not a complete list. I have thought a bit about what I want to make my family and friends this year for Christmas, but not much beyond that. I am tracking all my YOP items on my Pivotal Tracker (linked on the right) with the label yop2016. Easy enough, eh?

I currently have 8 items listed for YOP2016, although one consists of multiple items within it. Its a request to knit up some doll clothes. Considering the item isn’t “done” until all the doll items are done, I put it in as one item with a larger point value (that’s something agile methodology folks will get – but nothing I feel I have to explain deeper – maybe another blog, another time).

Anywhoozles – the list is:

  • American Doll Clothes (5 items or so) (2 items complete, 1 in progress, 2 not started)
  • A Baby Blanket for my friend’s first grandbaby – started
  • 1 Pair of Mittens – not started
  • 2 Scarves – not started
  • Fox Pillow – not started
  • A Teddy Bear – not started
  • 1 Pair of Socks (huh?!?! just one!) – not started

Yes, only 1 pair of socks which should be a huge indicator that this list is 2015 01 03 Socksnot done. I am sure I will be adding some more socks, especially for Christmas to the list – and I think I would also like to get a couple more gift pairs out there for other holidays/birthdays – but we’ll see. I will say my sock yarn stash is lower than it has been in years simply because my sock knitting has increased drastically.

I finished the socks here last night – bad lighting, but done nonetheless. I cannot remember what yarn I used BUT it was stash yarn (which I’m trying to stash bust this year as well). I used my vanilla sock yarn recipe which I have personally challenged myself with writing up and getting posting – the decision I have to make is do I charge a little fee for it (maybe 50 cents?) or put it up as a freebie? Not sure…. thoughts? Most of my patterns are free but not all – paid or free? free or paid? Blah.

That stupid internal argument aside, I do think I can finish the list as it stands now easily in 2016 – but I am pretty sure the list will be growing in the next week or so as I really begin to think about what I want to make this year.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2016 in My Projects

 

4 responses to “YOP 2016 – The First Post

  1. Minding My Own Stitches

    January 3, 2016 at 4:32 pm

    I really like the socks and they look super-comfy but I doubt I’d pay for a vanilla sock pattern, personally.

     
  2. Gracey

    January 3, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    The socks look great…..and good luck with the list….I’m also on the Jan-Dec timeline…

     
  3. Becki

    January 3, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    The socks look great. And I look forward to seeing the projects you’ve not gotten started yet. ;^) A happy and productive 2016 to you!

     
  4. Ruth

    January 4, 2016 at 7:39 am

    The socks are looking great and I hope you have a very productive yop year :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
