RSS

Sweet Georgia – Have Mercy!

04 Aug

shawlI posted a picture of a half completed sock yesterday – that sock is payment for a cowl and shawl I received from my friend Anne. She is a phenomenal knitter but for some reason doesn’t like making socks…. so, for a couple pair of socks, I get cool stuff I don’t have to knit myself. *laughs*

Anywhoozles – that’s not the point of this point. The point of this post is this: Sweet Georgia Yarns is awesome to work with.

I honestly cannot think of a project in my near or not-too-distant project future that would have driven me to research my way to Sweet Georgia Yarn. My friend Anne, on the other hand, adores the yarn. She had a hank of their sock yarn in her stash at the right time of our last knit swap which means it landed in my hands.

The yarn I’m working with is the colorway Honey Fig. It’s a gorgeous blend of purplish-reds with a splash of yellow thrown in.

Here it is on the swift – getting ready to take a “spin” *laughs* – I love yarn humor. HA!

swift

It really spun into the ball very easily – no tangles (which is a nice bonus). Once I got it wound, I started knitting and it really does knit up nicely. I am working with Tough Love, but they have three types of sock yarn: BFL, Cashluxe Fine, and Tough Love Sock.

halfsockThis is the photo I posted yesterday.

This sock is now done. I cast it off on Sunday night. Of course, I had to try it on and it felt fantastic on the foot.

This is one of those times where I wish the sock could be mine BUT – not the case. This is a swap with a friend… and this is actually the friend’s yarn so that would be kinda raw to do a swap out (although I’m completely guessing she knows they would be glorious socks and that’s why she asked for these anyway… so a swap out is completely out of the question *laughs*)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 4, 2015 in Rambles and Reflections

 

One response to “Sweet Georgia – Have Mercy!

  1. Flo Frazier

    August 5, 2015 at 2:27 pm

    I’ve heard that yarn is very nice! Maybe I’ll get some next year when I go to the UK.

     

Leave a Reply

 
