RSS

Yarny Embellishments

01 Jul

upload_-1I’m not sure how many of my readers of the blog follow me on Instagram, but if you are one of them, then you saw this photo posted a week or so ago – no explanation of what, just that it was fiber related.

Backstory – last week(ish) we had a heckuvah storm come through… several, actually. We were sitting watching a movie when the phone rang. The neighbor called to say she thought our front tree fell and hit the Man’s car. DOH!

Rushing outside, half the tree was down. It was definitely a close call. The top of the tippy top branches put a couple scratches into his car but, nothing big happened. No dents. No broken glass. Just a couple scratches that can be buffed out. WHEW! If he had been one foot back or in (or both), it would have been a whole different story.

Thankfully though, we were blessed to only end up with an hours work the next day to take the whole tree out. We cut up the fallen part and then added to the pile by cutting down the part that was standing. The tree itself looked healthy, but once we got it down to the stump, the whole inside was eaten up with ants. No wonder it fell.

Of course, now we are looking at the other trees and making a determination on if they have to come out and if so, how much (just a tree trimming or pulling the whole darn thing out).

Anywhoozles – we were left with a lot of wood. While we were cutting the tree up on Father’s Day, the Man and I were talking. I said it would be cool to get some buttons from it.

Yup – buttons.

He didn’t seem to believe me that wooden, handmade buttons were a desired item in the fiber world. I’m like “WHA!?!?! how do you not know?”

The conversation led me to the craft room – specifically my button tin where I then, sadly, admitted how much I paid for a couple of the buttons I have been saving for special projects. He was stunned. He didn’t quite believe me so I reached out to my yarny friends via text message. Again – he was stunned.

Soooo he went out and cut some branches off. He has been working on and off since then to come up with with some really nice buttons. I’m pretty excited. He even bought a couple of different tools to assist with the process so that he can buy planks and make buttons from them as well. He has even expanded a bit in his thinking and is coming up with a way to make some really nice shawl pins.

He has already made a couple for me (I will share them as I use them!) but I think he is also interested in selling some. If that is the case, look for a post or two here (linking to Etsy and showing photos) as well as the Yarntasia Facebook Page. I will have the items show in my Etsy widget as well for those who want a quick view.

For those of you who aren’t aware – I did start the Yarntasia Facebook Page and have been adding fun fiber related articles almost daily. I am also posting “Free for a limited time only” patterns from Ravelry. I did add a “July Finishes” post as well – I would be really interested in seeing items you are finishing and I think one of the easiest places to share images is Facebook (we all have one now, right? *laughs*).

Other than all that – taking us back to the original topic at hand (expert tangent talker), I will definitely share images of his buttons either here or on Instagram and SHOULD he choose to sell them, you will all be the first to know.

Here’s to having a yarntastic day!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 1, 2015 in Rambles and Reflections

 

One response to “Yarny Embellishments

  1. Flo Frazier

    July 2, 2015 at 9:56 am

    I would love some hand made buttons Cris!!! Or even a shawl pin. I’m always in need of one and can never locate the ones I have! I’m not on face book anymore but I’ll try to keep an eye on your etsy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
