RSS

A Head’s Up on Changing Things Up

17 Jun

I have done a lot of thinking: before, during, and after my blog post from a few days ago (Taking My Hour). And quite frankly, I’ve probably been thinking about this for a while.

What? Dare you ask…. well, I think I need to change things up a bit. Let’s be realistic – I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up and I’m already 39. I have done a LOT of things in my life… some are standard expectations of a bicentennial baby… others not so much. And some are pretty weird – but the reality is I have always put myself in a place that whatever I am doing it should be something that generates happiness. I try to not put myself into positions where you feel stuck or obligated – especially if those places make you feel terrible about yourself.

Now – I don’t feel terrible about my current position in life. I feel like I am living my life in a way that pleases my Lord and Maker. I think that is part of happiness – being happy with where you are. Just because you see something you want to pursue does not mean you have to be unhappy. I’m not unhappy now. I am blessed. I just think I see the possibility of an opportunity I may want to seize.

Interested? Have I lured you in?

Well.. I’ve been blogging for quite some time about fiber. I have crocheted since I was 4 and knitted on and off for years, but more so honed those skills over the few years. I adore fiber. I think the fiber arts are so practical and fun and relaxing and challenging and relaxing and … well, everything all at once. And why shouldn’t a person surround themselves in something they are passionate about?

I have an interest to put myself fully in the fiber community – and quite frankly, I have no idea how I would even get my start with that *laughing* But I do think I will be spending some time in the near future selecting a new blog name and migrating to a solid URL for that effort. I will continue what I do here there…. but I will also be researching about what I can do to take steps forward.

The logical “end” is a yarn store, I think. The idea truly intrigues me but will I ever get there, I don’t know. If I did, perhaps an online presence first – who knows! But what other possible ends are there? A speaker? a teacher? a writer? I know I just feel excited to think that I could be in a place that lets me be surrounded by fiber and a community of people who understand the enjoyment of the fiber arts.

I definitely don’t see any reason why I can’t pursue any of this and still be very happy in my current life, allowing it to transition naturally should a transition be a natural progression to where I am in life. I’m pretty excited about the thought and I’d like to spend some time moving from a pipe dream to dream status…. and then to reality, whatever level of reality it becomes.

I really look forward to documenting this process with you guys…. whatever comes of it, I know it’ll be good!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2015 in Rambles and Reflections

 

One response to “A Head’s Up on Changing Things Up

  1. iesadora

    June 17, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    While reading I was thinking that I’d comment saying ‘keep us posted’ but you read my mind lol Looking forward to seeing your journey! =D

     

Leave a Reply

 
