RSS

Tat Tat Tootsie, not Knit! (or: huh…. I thought I remembered how to do this… )

26 May

I have always worked with fiber – one of the favorite stories from kindergarten is how my mother got a call because I had taken a needle to school…. for my embroidery. And the conversation from that was my  mom reminding Mrs. Thompson (my teacher) about how she said she told the kids to bring in things to work on during their free time… and embroidery was one of those things I did. Needless (or should I say needle-less) to say, I was no longer permitted to bring needles to school. Crochet was acceptable – but no needles.

I believe I spent some time tatting around age 6-9, but I am pretty sure it was not shuttle tatting. I have no recollection of working with the shuttle… now, was it needle or crochet tatting – no flippin’ clue. I don’t remember that either but knowing I have been crocheting for 35 years now and tatting in a small time frame early on – it could be anything.

Where am I going with all of this?

Great question.

So the oldest, Rabbit, she is getting married next year. I offered to make her a shawl but she does not understand just how dainty and delicate crochet and knitting can be. She wasn’t too sure of it but I got an odd request – one I have not heard others get…. “Ma, will you make my garter?”

I said ok – and have been thinking about it constant ever since.

I have decided to not knit or crochet the lace that goes around – rather break out my sewing skills and just buy that lace (note: it has been purchased – I’ll blog on that process as I go through it). But I knew I wanted to put a piece of crochet or something on it and I have decided to either tat or crochet some flowers to go onto the garter.

Hmmm and how long has it been since I tatted? Let’s assume my age 9 is the actual age I stopped…. 30 years since? and I don’t know if it was needle or crochet tatting. *laughing*

tat1I spent some time online and ended up buying some tatting needles and a cro-tat hook from Amazon. Both are relaxing comfortably and very out of place on the coffee table. I have used both and got somewhat of a feel back for it.

So this is the first piece created after 30 years of no-tat (rhymes with cro-tat… get it?).

I did some basic rings and chains, nothing too crazy. I found a couple videos on YouTube to help with the general motions, but nothing too crazy. Once I began to remember some of the motions, I decided to tackle an actual project.

Oh.. and with beads. Why not? I plan to incorporate beads onto the garter.

So – I found a pattern on YouTube. I am not sure what language it was in, but the subtitles were close enough to English I could figure it out. Truthfully, well played. I wish I could give credit where credit is due because it was a very good video – but I can’t find it again. But, I assure you – it looks just like the bracelet I made.

tat2I’m pretty pleased with how it came out. Because I used regular sock yarn, it wasn’t as stiff as it needed to be so I just soaked it in a water/glue mixture and let it dry. That worked perfectly.

Now, I’m on a quest to find a pattern for a very classy flower.

My plan for the garter (plan… not what will actually happen, although I hope the two end up being one in the same) is to create a small cluster of flowers for it with one being a light blue. You know: something borrowed, something blue…

As I begin working on it, I’ll definitely keep you all updated!

Have a great day and God bless!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2015 in My Projects

 

2 responses to “Tat Tat Tootsie, not Knit! (or: huh…. I thought I remembered how to do this… )

  1. Flo Frazier

    May 27, 2015 at 11:19 am

    I think that is a lovely idea Cris. I have a tatting needle if you would like it. I was given it years ago and I don’t tat. I knew a lady that tatted with a shuttle and did beautiful work, I was probably 9 then, and I couldn’t grasp the concept so I didn’t pick it up. I made my niece her garter for her wedding, she did a country theme so I put camo ribbon through it and little bullets instead of pearls dangling off. It was cute. Your bracelet is lovely so I’m sure your garter will be too. I kept the lace sleeves off my wedding gown to make something for my girls with, no idea what yet but when they get married I will figure it out.

     
    • Cris

      May 27, 2015 at 2:08 pm

      Thank you for the offer on the needle – I did get some via Amazon and its been an interesting learn. I think your idea of saving the sleeves from your gown is an amazing idea! I should dig out the outfit I got married in and maybe rip some of the material off and do something with it (and I can do that for Squirt too).

       

Leave a Reply

 
