RSS

Rippit, Rippit, Rippit (also known as: Frogging)

03 Mar

While I do not consider myself an expert (heck, even intermediate) knitter, some folks around me are fairly impressed with the work that I do. Crochet, again – the same (but I know I’m an expert crocheter… almost 35 years of crocheting under my belt – I sure hope I’ve learned a thing or two!). But, regardless of craft, I am asked one question enough to be considered common: Do you ever mess up?

While I would love to have some awesome answer that indicates that 1) I don’t mess up and 2) you can learn to not mess up too, the real answer is “yup… all the darn time.”

There are plenty of reasons for either craft: dropped stitches, bad stitch count, split yarn, knots, accidental stain, pet decided to help me, read the pattern wrong, interpreted what I read wrong, the yarn hates the pattern, the pattern hates the yarn, yadda yadda yadda. I have had to tear my work out. And sometimes… I tear it out and never go back to that project.

So if you are one of those people that wonder if someone you deem more experienced (not necessarily are, especially in my case and the knitting needles) – here is photo proof.

9d5dc-photo752

This was going to be a baby blanket. It started out as a baby bobble baby blanket and ended up a basket weave baby blanket.

2015 02 28 - scarf yarn

This one really depicts a rough night. I was making a scarf… it was to be two colors. I started and frogged so many times I thought I was going to ruin the yarn! I had knitting needles and crochet hooks out…. it just did not like what I wanted it to be.

2015 02 28 - shawl yarn

This was a shall. now its turning into another shawl… and it may end up something else if this second shawl doesn’t come together a bit more for me.

Psst… don’t tell the awesome-oppossum yarn currently being made into a glove that it may not end up being a glove. ;)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 3, 2015 in Rambles and Reflections

 

One response to “Rippit, Rippit, Rippit (also known as: Frogging)

  1. Barbara

    April 12, 2015 at 1:20 am

    Thanks for sharing Cris! I love to crochet and started as a young girl, but don’s consider myself and expert my and stretch. It is reassuring to me to read about some of your frogging experience. Those around me, for the most part, are not crocheters, and they shake their heads at me for taking projects apart, starting over, changing my mind, etc. It is definitely good to know, as I prepare to take apart a project that is theoretically almost done, just isn’t how I wanted it to.

     

Leave a Reply

 
