RSS

My 2015 Word (and it is not “the bird” – which is actually two words)

06 Jan

my faceA word to describe the year to come – that is the inspiration/idea I gathered from Kathryn’s Instragram. Kathryn, the marvel behind the crochet website Crochet Concupiscence, captioned her photo with the following:

“My word of the year is intentionality and I specifically want to be conscious and intentional around what I consume and create, how I use my time and the health around my literal and metaphorical breath.”

She asked about our word – what will we use to define out attempts (or resolutions) for 2015. Here is mine. Meaning.

Yup – that’s it. It seems like such a simple little word that has very little impact on life – but in reality, it is what life is all about – finding meaning behind all that you do and if there is no meaning, why continue?

I am currently reading the book “How Remarkable Women Lead” (admittedly, its about centered leadership and is applicable for all genders – they just focused on interviewing women) and the first major piece of any successful leader is being a person who has and knows the meaning – a job is not satisfying unless there is meaning. Why do you do what you do at a career level? It no longer becomes money related or “its what I’m supposed to do.”

But beyond that, as my 2015 word – I am going to find the meaning in my life: professionally and personally. And where there is meaning there is purpose. Where there is purpose there is optimism and where there is optimism, happiness comes a bit easier.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a very happy person and I attribute it to my spiritual being – to God. Even with all the hassles, troubles, and hurdles in my life I look at everything I do have as a blessing. But I do believe that I do some things even though there is no meaning. I was knitting with friends one night when one of them said they were not enjoying knitting the item selected for the knit-a-long (this was a year or so ago) – so if there is no meaning, then why?

I’m going to finish this book (which is absolutely fascinating – I’m even taking notes) and I’m going to be spending a lot of time looking at my life and determining what my meaning is in each activity I partake in. I am going to be a better person for it and in the end, I will have found a personal purpose in all I do. I’m sure that as I migrate into this centered leadership way of living that I’ll share tidbits here in hopes to possibly inspire any one of you.

What is your word for 2015?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2015 in Rambles and Reflections

 

3 responses to “My 2015 Word (and it is not “the bird” – which is actually two words)

  1. Kathryn Vercillo

    January 7, 2015 at 9:47 am

    So happy to read the post about your word. I think “meaning” is a really great word for framing the new year. Finding, defining, understanding our meaning at both the micro and macro level can add so much richness and, as you said, happiness to our lives. Here is to a rich and wonderful new year!

     
    • Cris

      January 7, 2015 at 8:44 pm

      Amen! *would toast to it if we were closer and I had better wine* ;)

       

Leave a Reply

 
