RSS

Biting My Tongue.

03 Nov

1a407-20140820_100218I got off the phone with my mother a few minutes ago.

That is all.

*laughs* Just kidding.

During our hour + phone conversation we started talking about hand crafted Christmas presents. Our family does a thing now where we draw names. You can purchase any gifts you want for whatever person you want, but – the one name you do draw – that gift, that single solitary gift – should be hand made. There are eight of us that participate: Myself and my direct three (the Man, Squirt, and DC), my mother and her husband, and my brother and his wife. This year, we actually told whose name we drew. We are careful to not have anyone walk away with their own name – but outside of that, it doesn’t matter if you drew the same person as last year or not. This year, I drew my brother’s name.

I am excited to day that today, I finished my brother’s present.

This is the hardest part of the entire little family program – not giving it to the person now. I want so badly to hand my brother the present and see if he loves it as much as I do. I had a great time making it. I’m hesitant to post pictures here because I have no idea if he reads my blog. I don’t think he does.

Should I risk it?

I want to show it to you all – I took a really basic video of it. Yes – a knitting project that requires a video to showcase the concept!

I will be making the chart available on my Rav store (probably for around 4$ since it took me around 8 hours to chart up). I will post here when I get it up. Now that I knit up the chart, I know which rows I dropped off.

OHHHH I want to show you.

Perhaps I’ll be able to show you more than just the basket I stored it in for the last several months as we draw closer to the holiday… until then, I shall leave you with a photo of my dog looking absolutely adorable.

b0da5-img_1281

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in My Projects, Rambles and Reflections

 

2 responses to “Biting My Tongue.

  1. Flo Frazier

    November 4, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    I love making homemade gifts. I knit so much last year around the holidays from the stress of my dh being sick that this year I decided no one was getting homemade gifts. I have knit all year for myself. I did crochet a lovely hat for my Grandma but that doesn’t count, I’ll make her anything at any time, just because she asks, she’s an exception to every rule. I have worked on a few things for a friends children but not as much as I hoped. I plan on sending what I have done out soon.

     
    • Cris

      November 5, 2014 at 12:51 pm

      I love having “that person” – the one person you’d craft for day or night, any season. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
