RSS

Year of Projects 2014

28 Sep

Well, as it stands my Pivotal shows the same unfinished 6 items from last week BUT I can say I have made progress!

I had an offsite visit for work on Thursday which landed me 6+ hours in a van with 4 male coworkers – which also meant I got a LOT of work done on that sock – in fact, by the end of day yesterday, I had finished the first sock of the first pair on my YOP2014 list… and that is WITH a migraine.

The car time on Thursday was funny – but the gents definitely asked a lot of questions about my hobby. They

are intrigued at the idea of hand knit socks. All I know is there is something funny to me about complete IT junkies (we are all IT workers) looking at yarn through a different light. I was asked about yarn, fibers, buying alpacas, sheep, angora bunnies, washing, wear, repair, longevity….

One of the guys actually asked me on Friday about socks – so I have a feeling an order will be coming my way. There is something magical about the idea of a seamless sock (well, at least to me there is).

The picture I’m including here is another minion hat… it was sitting in the “need to finish” pile – and I decided to take that 10 minutes and get the eye on it. This will be a Christmas present for my grandson – and of course, is not in the YOP2014 listing.

What I would like to specifically point out about this Minion hat is that the eye is actually over the area of the color changing row…. so what? you ask – that means that the blue/yellow change is ALSO a color change and honestly, I’m pretty darn spiffy happy about how seamless the join looks! I have no idea how I pulled it off, but I think that was pretty decent – and I have no idea if I’ll ever be able to make it that seamless again *ha!*

In other news, I’ve had a horrific case of startitis this week. I need to focus on the items on this list – because some of these are actually for Christmas too. If I didn’t have to work a full time job *winks* (I’d probably still have the same pile of things that need finished … but it would just be a bit bigger)

God Bless, all :) I hope you have a happy and productive week!

YOP2014 List
– Socks – 1 sock done… 2nd started
– Socks
– Socks
– Spats for my daughter
– Illusion Knit – I finally hit the halfway mark!
– Lapghan #2 – 3 strips complete and 3 more squares for the next 

—- 
Visit the “Year of Projects” group on Ravelry if you want to read more about others who are tracking their work or if you want to join in the fun.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2014 in My Projects

 

7 responses to “Year of Projects 2014

  1. Renee Anne

    September 28, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    I do love those Minion hats :) I expect Little Man would want one but he seems to want a bit of everything lately…kind of a little gimmiepig, to be honest (he's also a fiber and yarn snob).

     
  2. Lucy Bowen

    September 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    The minion hat is great, my son wants a hat with a bobble!

     
  3. Minding My Own Stitches

    September 28, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Oh that's so true, if I didn't have a full time job I'd have a larger pile of things that needed doing and finishing too! It is interesting to hear how non-knitters respond to the idea of hand knit socks. Gavin just carries on about how inefficient it is compared to store-bought machine made socks. So no socks for him!

     
  4. Christine

    September 28, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    people always have questions for me about stuff to do with knitting too… i love it. Minions on my blog post too!

     
  5. ayarnyrobin

    September 29, 2014 at 6:16 am

    wow, how neat to be spreading yarny love to your co workers… I love your minion hat too x

     
  6. Ruth

    September 29, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Wow way to go you on the sock finishing and your image of a van of it junkies all engrossed in your knitting makes me smile. I love the minion hat also so cute.

     
  7. Cris

    October 5, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
