RSS

Afghans in the Winter

05 Feb

I never knew how much I appreciate crocheting in the winter, especially anything ‘ghan’ related. Currently I’m working on a lapghan for my beloved and it is about 1/4 of the way done. Granted, that is not a lot, but it’s enough to know when you take it off your lap to go grab something else to drink or start dinner.

When I stood up this weekend, removing the work-in-progress from my lap, my instantly chilled thighs gave me the reminder that my husband is going to love this lapghan – and by love it, I mean *LOVE* it. I thought of how he’s going to adore the fact its in his favorite college team colors and that it’s a nice manly stitch and an even nicer, manlier pattern (which I’ll be posting later, with pictures).

What I also began to think about is my trend – my trend for crocheting larger projects only in the late fall and winter. I can’t remember an afghan that I have made that had crochet take place outside the colder months…. I started my daughter’s afghan in a summer month, but it was granny squares…. and I didn’t sew them together until the fall. My son’s afghan was done pretty much completely in Nov/Dec of 2009… and it was a full dc only afghan….

The earliest I remember crocheting an afghan was when I was about 10 years old – for my baseball coach. And again – it was granny squares. I made the small squares in the summer months but waited to sew them together for the fall.

While I have not started any afghans recently, I know I have one more to make for my oldest daughter and I have a feeling, that if it isn’t small squares thrown together, I have only a few months to get it started and finished before it gets boxed up until next fall.

…. perhaps a Christmas present for 2011.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2011 in Rambles and Reflections

 

2 responses to “Afghans in the Winter

  1. Merri

    February 7, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I still haven't attempted a granny blanket, at least the small granny squares. I'll keep this in mind when the summer hits. It's still on my list to do!

    Cheers!

     
  2. Merri

    April 5, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    I still haven't attempted a granny blanket, at least the small granny squares. I'll keep this in mind when the summer hits. It's still on my list to do!

    Cheers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
